



47th AGM OF THE WANAKA BRIDGE CLUB Presbyterian Church Hall, 94 Tenby Street, Wanaka 28thth November 2024 at 7.15 pm.

MINUTES

- 1. **Present**: Emma Allwood, Jan Baird, Rosemary Boswell, Nicola Brown, Marg Caldwell, Kate Coe, Paul Cushnie, Lesley Davies, Jenny Dickie, Dorothy Fennell, Polly Foster, Marion Furneaux, Tracey Gieck, Robyn Gilchrist, Jeanette Gillies, Jane Hamilton, Sherril Harries, Jo Harry, Mark Harry, Peter Hart, Pauline Harvey, Maureen Hawke, Lyn Hill, Jacinta Hyslop, Sally Jackways, Robert Kaplan, Janey Kuzma, Nancy Latham, Ena Leckie, Dorothy McDonald, Nicole Meldrum, Vicki Menzies, Pam Millar, Joan Moon, Carol Orbell, Sue Orbell, Boyd Ottrey, Nan Ottrey, Jenny Pryde, Murray Pryde, Noeline Raffills, Ken Roberts, Neil Robinson, Kay Ross, Ken Saxby, John Schwarz, Marc Simmonds, Jacquie Staley, Ann-Louise Stokes, Sheryl Strudwick, Jenny Turnbull, Martin Unwin, Barbara Waterworth, Heather Wellman, Janet Young
- 2. **Apologies:** Cathy Andrews, Neil Marshall, Trish & Alan Foote, Lynne Woodhead, Annie Hudson, Carolyn Field, Andrew Shaw, Jen & John Milburn, Bridget McCaughan, Alan Eklly, Jude Gunn, George Foreman, Jackie Knight, Trish Morris, Lauren Sleeman, Liz Hawker, Kate Hall, Lynne Fegan, Clare Scurr.

The President issued a warm welcome to all attendees and especially Dawn Wilson and Life Members Marion Furneaux, Ena Leckie and Ann-Louise Stokes.

- 3. **Minutes of the 46th AGM** held on 30th November 2023 presented. *Moved: Heather Wellman/ Marc Simmonds* Carried
- 4. Matters Arising from the Minutes
- Grading Policy Update Tracey Gieck spoke on this and thanked Martin Unwin and fellow committee members for all the work that has been done. The aim has been to create a system that is both transparent and fair. Once ratified at the next committee meeting, Bronze players whose ratings have risen sufficiently will be invited to the Silver division and as of 2026 Silver division players whose ratings have fallen will be asked to move to the Bronze division.

Questions from the floor:

"Do you have to move and what happens if the night doesn't suit?" The committee has discretion to make adjustments but the aim is to create fairness for all players rather than individuals.

"Has the Committee thought about a third division?" At present there are not enough members to support three divisions.

"Why are Silver Players not being put down this year?" Some years a player rating points may go down due to limited play for reasons such as health, work, travel, however their playing ability has not lessened in any way. This gives them a year's grace for their rating points to be reassessed at the end of the following year.

"Will the Bronze Championship Pairs winners automatically be invited to the Silver division?" No, the system has been designed around Rating Points which come from all play in the Otago Region.

Heather Wellman thanked Tracey and the Grading Committee for all the work that has gone in to developing the policy.

- Property Committee Update written report presented by Heather Wellman. Report attached.
- 5. **President's Report** A moments silence was observed for members who had passed away this year. Heather Wellman presented her report for the year ended 31st March 2024, see attached.
- 6. Adoption of President's Report *Moved: Heather Wellman/Peter Hart*

Carried

- 7. **Presentation of 2024 Accounts** These were circulated prior to the meeting and Vicki Menzies spoke to them in Andrew Shaw's absence.
- 8. Adoption of Accounts

Moved: Vicki Menzies/Marc Simmonds

Carried

It was confirmed that monies not used in the day to day running of the accounts are put into a term deposit.

9. Membership Subscriptions for 2025

Motion: That the subscriptions for the 2025 Financial Year be increased by \$5 to \$130 for Full Membership, and \$65 for Country Membership. Table money to remain at \$6.00/session of play.

Moved: Heather Wellman/Pam Millar

Carried

The main reason for this increase is that NZ Bridge is also putting the levy up by \$4 next year.

10. Appointment of Reviewer for 2025 – it was resolved to reappoint Allan Kelly as the Reviewer for the 2025 Year.

Moved: Marc Simmonds/Heather Wellman

Carried

11. Election of Officers

Position	Nominee	Proposer	Seconder
President	Heather Wellman	Clare Scurr	Ann-Louise Stokes
Vice President	Jane Hamilton	Liz Hawker	Neil Marshall
Secretary	Cathy Andrews	Heather Wellman	Jan Baird
Treasurer	Vicki Menzies	Marc Simmonds	Jane Hamilton
Committee	Sally Jackways	Heather Wellman	Jane Hamilton
Committee	Tracey Gieck	Jane Medway	Cathy Andrews
Committee	Lyn Hill	Sally Jackways	Tracey Gieck
Committee	Marc Simmonds	Jane Hamilton	Andrew Shaw
Committee	Nancy Latham	Cathy Andrews	Polly Foster
Committee	Murray Pryde	Jane Hamilton	Marc Simmonds

Moved by President: that the above Nominees be adopted:

Moved: Heather Wellman/Peter Hart Carried

12. General Business

Thank you vouchers were presented by the President to all those who have been instrumental in the smooth running of the club during the past year.

Questions from the floor:

Sherrill Harries brought to light the inconsistencies of table movements and placement of phantom and suggested we play the Web movement more frequently. This allows for a fairer system where sit outs are minimized and you play most pairs in the room. The Directors will take this onboard for 2025 and incorporate it where possible.

Also mentioned was the cost of printing and sending out of the bridge book, but this is sponsored by Wools of Wanaka and they are happy to continue that in 2025. Murray Pryde has agreed to help with distribution.

Jane Hamilton presented Heather with a bunch of flowers thanking her for all the work she has done during the year.

There being no further business the meeting closed at 8.15pm, followed by Prize Giving, drinks and nibbles.

Signed 28th November 2024	
President: Heather Wellman	